Agenda

Day One: Wednesday, September 15, 2021

12:15 EDT ( 09:15 PDT )

45 min

Break

15:30 EDT ( 12:30 PDT )

45 min

Break

Day Two: Thursday, September 16, 2021

10:30 EDT ( 07:30 PDT )

45 min
EJ Kwandibens

Lateral Violence: “Through An Indigenous Lens”

EJ Kwandibens, Indigenous Cultural Educator, Miino Ayah Dah

  • What is Lateral Violence? “A Wounded Spirit”
  • Causes of Lateral Violence “Lost Identity”
  • Forms of Lateral Violence “Left Vulnerable”
  • Addressing Lateral Violence “Re-Awakening”
  • Onward from Lateral Violence “Reclamation”

11:15 EDT ( 08:15 PDT )

45 min
Nicole Callihoo

Creating Supportive Environments in the Workplace

Nicole Callihoo, Assistant Deputy Minister, First Nations, Métis and Inuit Education Directorate, Alberta Education

The Alberta Public Service (APS) is dedicated to providing optimum environments and opportunities to garner social support, connect with senior leaders and organizational systems, educate colleagues, encourage career advancement and advance the goals of our organizations. The Employee Resource Groups (ERG’s) are part and parcel of our Diversity and Inclusion plan.

ERGs are voluntary groups that bring together diverse APS employees who share a common identity, characteristics, and/or bond or background. The primary purpose of these groups is to support diversity and further inclusion in the APS. Specifically, the Indigenous ERG – the Indigenous Employee Circle provides a supportive environment and network and:

  • is dedicated to supporting Indigenous employees body, mind, spirit and emotion through working with Elders and practicing our cultures,
  • provides opportunities to APS staff to learn about Indigenous histories and cultures and to bust common myths and misconceptions about Indigenous peoples, creating a safe work environment,
  • has a guiding principle that every decision should result in sustainable relationships today and seven generations into the future, to help make the GoA a positive working experience for Indigenous and non-Indigenous staff,
  • members listen generously and respect alternative ways of knowing, providing for open dialogue with the purpose of increasing understanding, sharing information, and building meaningful relationships in order to guide directed studies regarding diversity and inclusion,
  • all circle members are encouraged to promote the goals and principles of the Circle. They will each take on roles to deliver on actions identified through consensus decision making,

The presentation will review the IERG network, its activities, and its supportive systems.

12:00 EDT ( 09:00 PDT )

45 min

Break

13:30 EDT ( 10:30 PDT )

45 min
Nelson Onwuliri

Lateral Violence in the Workplace and Duty to Accommodate

Nelson Onwuliri, Manager, Human Resources, Tsay Keh Dene First Nation

  • What is lateral violence? What does it mean to you?
  • Lateral violence in the workplace and why do we participate in Lateral Violence
  • How Lateral Violence impacts on the workplace Individuals, Families, Community, and the Organizations
  • Duty to Accommodate and procedural duty to accommodate
  • Examples of duty to accommodate and the meaning of undue hardship

15:15 EDT ( 12:15 PDT )

45 min

Break

Day Three: Friday, September 17, 2021

12:30 EDT ( 09:30 PDT )

45 min

Break

14:15 EDT ( 11:15 PDT )

60 min
David Desormeaux

Recruitment and Hiring Priorities in a Competitive Marketplace

David Desormeaux, Manager of Human Resources, Tsawwassen First Nation

  • About Tsawwassen First Nation (TFN). Its past, present, and future
  • The HR management function and TFN’s recruitment priorities
  • Supporting and building TFN Members’ professional development
  • Meeting operational needs through staffing in a fast growing Treaty Nation
  • Attracting talent in a competitive urban environment