Agenda

Day One : Tuesday, November 3, 2020

10:45 EST ( 07:45 PST )

60 min
Sparrow Rose Curtis Copegog

Encompassing Indigenous Culture Throughout the Employee Life Cycle

Sparrow Rose, Director, Human Resources, Dnaagdawenmag Binnoojiiyag Child & Family Services

Curtis Copegog, Cultural Services Supervisor, Dnaagdawenmag Binnoojiiyag Child & Family Services

From onboarding to the exit interview, how to build and maintain a culturally intelligent and engaged workforce through:

  • Employee onboarding, learning and development
  • Cultural support services
  • Human Resources policies, procedures and programs

11:45 EST ( 08:45 PST )

60 min
Shawna Cote

Indigenous Lateral Violence in the workplace

Shawna Cote, Human Resources Specialist, PeePeeKisis First Nation

  • What is Lateral Violence
  • How does this aspect affect employees that work for a Band?
  • How do we change the corporate culture of a community?
  • What are our truths in HR with Lateral Violence on the First Nation?
  • Within HR what can we do to change for our future generations?

12:45 EST ( 09:45 PST )

45 min

Break

13:30 EST ( 10:30 PST )

45 min
Sparrow Rose Curtis Copegog

Immersing your Indigenous Organizational Values into Employee Feedback Programs

Sparrow Rose, Director, Human Resources, Dnaagdawenmag Binnoojiiyag Child & Family Services

Curtis Copegog, Cultural Services Supervisor, Dnaagdawenmag Binnoojiiyag Child & Family Services

Dnaaddawenmag Binnoojiiyag Child & Family Services will explore their experiences with developing cultural competencies using the 7 Grandfather Teachings:

  • Evaluating employee behaviours during 1:1 sessions and performance reviews
  • Coaching, feedback and performance management

14:15 EST ( 11:15 PST )

45 min

Compassionate Leadership

Tanya Clarke-Marinelli, CEO, TC Training Services & Executive Board of Director, Aboriginal Chamber of Commerce

  • Open communication
  • Modeling and supporting
  • Leaders creating leaders
  • Building trust and encouraging employees to take on projects
  • Making contributions and taking risks VS using criticism as self-perfection
    • Hiding behind sarcasm
    • Being the knower and being right VS being the learner and getting it right
    • High Performance Organization (HPO) Scores

15:00 EST ( 12:00 PST )

45 min

Break

15:45 EST ( 12:45 PST )

45 min

Probationary Periods and Reviews – Using them Correctly and Getting the Best out of your Review Process

Jennifer Wiegele, Partner, Mathews Dinsdale & Clark LLP

There are many misconceptions surrounding the laws about probationary periods and probationary reviews.

In this session, we will cover the following:

  • legal requirements for an enforceable probationary clause in an employment contract;
  • the importance and significance of using probationary periods;
  • legal requirements for conducting probationary reviews;
  • different types of reviews – pros/cons;
  • tools for conducting effective probationary reviews; and
  • tools for Chief and Council to evaluate its Band Administrator/ED/CAO.

We hope all participants will leave with a clear understanding of how to effectively use probationary periods and with tools to conduct evaluations on all employees, including Band Managers.

16:30 EST ( 13:30 PST )

45 min

Bring the Human Back to Indigenous Human Resources – A Journey of Resilience

Celeste Haldane, Chief Commissioner, BC Treaty

  • Meaningful Employment
  • Indigenous Skills Development
  • Employee Assistance Programs
  • National Inquiry of Missing and Murdered Indigenous Women and Girls – 231 Calls to Justice
  • Partnerships with the Health and Social Sectors

Day Two : Wednesday, November 4, 2020

12:45 EST ( 09:45 PST )

45 min

Break

14:30 EST ( 11:30 PST )

60 min
Elise Demeo

Recruiting, Interviewing & Retaining Indigenous Talent for Remote Northern Communities

Elise Demeo, Human Resources Advisor, Nishnawbe Aski Police Service

  • My Experience Recruiting Talent for Remote Northern Communities in Ontario for Over eight (8) Years
  • Breaking Away from Formal Interviewing Styles
  • Recruiting & Attracting Indigenous Applicants
  • Retaining & Supporting Your Talent

15:30 EST ( 12:30 PST )

45 min

Break

16:15 EST ( 13:15 PST )

60 min
Rozella Johnston Marsha Roote

Skills Development and Capacity Building with Indigenous Communities: Supporting the Solutions

Rozella Johnston, Indigenous Employment and Training, Human Resources, Bruce Power

Marsha Roote, Indigenous Employment & Training Specialist, Indigenous Employment Program, Bruce Power

  • Best Practices in Attracting, Employing and Retaining Indigenous Employees
  • Challenges in Building a local workforce
  • Building Relationships and Creating Indigenous Community Partners
  • Increasing Organizational and Program Capacity
  • Training and Retaining Indigenous Talent  – Looking Ahead

Day Three : Thursday, November 5, 2020

10:45 EST ( 07:45 PST )

60 min
Dr. Jason Walker PsyD, PhD

Embracing Conflict from a Trauma Informed Perspective

Dr. Jason Walker PsyD, PhD, Master Coach | Mediator | Arbitrator | Therapist | CEO, MasterCoach.ca

  • Are you feeling like you’re spending the majority of your time managing people issues?  Are you ever wanting to avoid the conflict because it’s in the “too hard” pile? Wondering why a certain employee always seems to “push back” on everything? You are not alone!
  • Conflict in the workplace is inevitable because when people come together there is always going to be conflict.  The question becomes, how do we manage conflict in a safe, effective and respectful way?  The answer is yes not only is it possible we can do this while incorporating culture, tradition and employment standards!
  • This workshop will take you on a journey towards understanding the power of trauma informed practice within a workplace context.  You will learn how to identify and better manage high conflict situations while building even stronger positive relationships with your workmates.  Participants will develop their knowledge on resolving conflicts the right way along with the basic principles of collaborative mediation and how to access external neutral resources to coach, mentor and resolve some of those really messy workplace ‘people’ challenges

12:45 EST ( 09:45 PST )

45 min

Break

13:30 EST ( 10:30 PST )

45 min

First Nation Tax Immunity: a Guide for Employers

Maxime Faille, Partner, Gowling, WLG

  • Are my status Indian employees exempt from tax?
  • Structuring and running your organization to secure tax exemption for status Indian employees
  • How do I protect my organization?

15:00 EST ( 12:00 PST )

45 min

Break